12 things I’ve felt guilty about this week as a mum

A new study has claimed that working parents are riddled with guilt – but that we needn’t worry as all it takes is 12 minutes to “reconnect” with your child. But I think it going to take a bit more than a few question about their day to rid me of my mountainous remorse.

Is it just me or does having children somehow give you a new found ability to feel guilty about anything? I don’t remember amid the endless lie-ins and selfish consumerism of pre-parenthood being dogged by this constant sense of self-reproach.

In response to those psychological experts at Ribena and their 12 Minute Manual. I have thought of 12 things I have felt guilty about this week. What are yours?

1. Scraping my screaming child off me into the hands of an inanimate nursery nurse = guilt I am not staying at home to look after my child and am not going to be there when she cries.

2. At work I find for an hour or so my guilt has drifted out of my mind and I actually enjoyed my job = guilt that I forgot about my guilt

3. Get home and dish out a dinner of fish fingers and frozen veg = guilt I have not already defrosted a home cooked meal or had the slow cooker on all day.

4. Off work with the kids = guilt that by 9am they are already doing my head in and I wish I was at work

5. Partner gets home and starts hoovering = guilt I am a rubbish mum/wife and should have done this already.

6. Spend the morning cleaning while kids mope around = guilt I am not giving the kids attention.

7. Cook up a delicious home cooked meal for family dinner when hubby gets in = guilt I am not being a feminist, am letting down womenkind and should have been out pursuing the career I worked hard for instead of letting it go down the pan by going part-time and watching the younger employees overtake me in seniority, grrr.

8.Kids claw at my computer and crawl all over me asking to do some typing too = guilt I am being selfish enough to blog about guilt

9. Daughter didn’t get invited to nursery birthday party = guilt I should be making for of an effort to mix with the mums

10. Look over at my daughters and they are hugging and laughing – why am I complaining? = Guilt that I don’t deserve these precious little people.

11. Go on a rare night out and ring home and daughter of course has been sick. Continue drinking, have amazing time, massive hangover, have spent a fortune that I could have put in the girls trust fund = guilt.

12. Know I need to live in there here and now, seize the moment, not waste my life with ‘what if’s’, enjoy what I have, relax and chill out = guilt that for some reason I just can’t do it!

Leave a Reply

North East With Kids

A few words and pictures of places we like to go in the North East of England

Great North Mum

Multitasking mummy on a mission

The Alpha Parent

Mum in the North East rambling about life with two young daughters

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 83 other followers

