Put the knife down

My children are always surprising me with things I didn’t realise they could do. I found out that my eldest had outgrown her cot when there was a bump and a yelp in the night. And I realised this week that my youngest can now reach the kitchen counter when I found her wielding a kitchen knife. My heart nearly stopped as we stood in a silent standoff. No baby book I’ve ever read has told me how to disarm a toddler. So instead, having recently I am embarrassed to say watched Midsommer Murders, I found myself thinking, what would Inspector Barnaby do? Not wanting to alarm her by dashing over in a panic, I tried to stay calm and advanced slowly forward, saying what I never thought I’d be saying to a baby “Katherine, put the knife down.” Fortunately she didn’t put up too much of a fight and I managed to swiftly pluck the blade from her grip. While my children seem to be busy impressing me with their new found abilities, I have been reading this week about all the things I should be able to do, but can’t. Recent research claims traditional “mum skills” are on the decline. While nine out of 10 mums under 35 don’t know how to starch a shirt, half can’t sew and three-quarters can’t make gravy from scratch. While I did sew a button on my coat last week, although it feel off again later in the day, I didn’t even know why you would need to starch a shirt, so I thought I would look into this mysterious lost skill. I was going to ring my mum to ask her why she had forgotten to pass on this pearl of wisdom, but then I thought it would be quicker and easier to use that modern invention the internet. And to be honest I was pretty disappointed. I thought it was going to be some elaborate technique that would possibly require a YouTube video, but instead I found you buy starch spray from the supermarket then “hold can at 45° angle and spray.” I think I might be able to manage that. I do wonder about these lost “skills”. Do people go around asking what happened to the lost arts of reaping, haymaking, rabbit skinning, or weaving? I don’t think I’ll be rushing off home tonight to make some jam, but I think trying to learn a new skill of some kind can’t be a bad idea. Hopefully something a bit more taxing than starching a shirt.

Leave a Reply

a day without OJ - A comms, digital & PR blog by Ross Wigham

"A day without orange juice is a helluva long day."

North East With Kids

A few words and pictures of places we like to go in the North East of England

Great North Mum

Parenting, politics, procrastination

The Alpha Parent

Mum in the North East rambling about life with two young daughters

