mummy brain

I often find the difference between plans and reality is pretty vast when you have children and on Tuesday night, while I planned to be having a very rare post-work drink with a friend, instead I found myself stranded in a Northumberland seaside fishing village with some lost Japanese
students.
When my friend had to cancel, I headed to Newcastle Central Station, where when the train pulled in I settled into my seat only  to discover I was on my way to Glasgow, not Edinburgh and next stop was Alnmouth not Morpeth, my planned destination.
If I hadn’t laughed I would have cried. Checking timetables on my phone, my best chance of making it home before midnight was catching a bus, which would take an hour to go 20 miles. I had never been to Alnmouth before, it looks beautiful, but at 8.30pm tired and hungry, I was not in the best mood to appreciate it.
Anyway finally on the bus I almost began to enjoy the views from the top of the meandering double decker and after bone-shaking our way past an eclectic collection of sights that included beaches, Warkworth Castle, Amble, (twice), Acklington Prison car park and a Barn Owl, I finally made it home. Obviously I am blaming my children and the 5am starts for turning me into a complete imbecile. 
My three-year-old daughter has been asking me for ages to take her on a train. I think it’ll be safest for everyone if we postpone that trip until I get a few more hours sleep.

Image

Leave a Reply

a day without OJ - A comms, digital & PR blog by Ross Wigham

"A day without orange juice is a helluva long day."

North East With Kids

A few words and pictures of places we like to go in the North East of England

Great North Mum

Parenting, politics, procrastination

The Alpha Parent

Mum in the North East rambling about life with two young daughters

